“Stowaways” are persons whose national status or service to the Country is, in the opinion of the Club Committee, such as to render it desirable that they should be made honorary life members of that special section of the Club. This exalted rank is sparingly conferred – only on a select few, and those few do not necessarily have to have direct connection with the sea.

The Club takes very considerable pride in the fact that so many of our national figures, extending from Royalty to lesser walks of life, have accepted membership of our exclusive “Stowaway” section, and it is with deep respect that we append their names below.

1928 The Right Reverend F T Woods DD, Lord Bishop of Winchester
1929 Admiral of the Fleet Earl Jellico of Scapa, GCB, OM, GCVO
1930 Admiral of the Fleet The Lord Keys of Zeebrugge and Dover, GCVO, KCB
1931 Major-General The Right Honourable Lord Mottistone, CB, CMG, DSO,TD, Lord-Lieutenant of Hampshire
1933 The Right Reverend E S Woods, DD, Lord Bishop of Lichfield
1946Admiral of the Fleet The Earl Mountbatten of Burma, KG, PC, OM, GCSI, GCIE, GCVO, KCB, DSO
1948Admiral of the Fleet The Lord Fraser of North Cape, GCB, KBE
1948 Lieutenant-Colonel The Viscount Portal, PC, GCMG, MVO, DSO, Lord-Lieutenant of Hampshire
1949 His Royal Highness The Duke of Edinburgh, KG, KT, OM, GBE, AC, QSO, PC, CD
1953 The Very Reverend Dr E G Selwyn, DD
1953 His Grace The Duke of Wellington, KG, Lord-Lieutenant of Hampshire
1958 Field-Marshall The Viscount Montgomery of Alamein, KG, GCB, DSO
1960 The Right Reverend K E M Lamplugh, Bishop of Southampton
1968 Sir Alec Rose, Kt
1971 The Right Honourable The Lord Maybray King, PC
1977 Admiral of the Fleet The Lord Lewin, KG, GCB, LVO, DSC, DSc
1980 The Right Honourable The Earl of Malmesbury, TD, Lord-Lieutenant of Hampshire
1984 Sir John Nicholson, Bt, KBE, CIE, JP
1984 Lieutenant-Colonel Sir James Scott, Bt, Lord-Lieutenant of Hampshire
1989 His Royal Highness The Duke of York, KG, KCVO, ADC(P)
1990 Rear Admiral Sir Morgan Morgan-Giles DSO, OBE, GM, DL
1991 General Sir Peter de la Billière, KCB, KBE, DSO, MC
1993 Admiral of the Fleet Sir Julian Oswald, GCB
1994 Admiral Sir Anthony Morton, GBE, KCB, DL
1996 Captain Sir Malcolm Edge KCVO
2000 Lady Mary Fagan, LG, DCVO, JP, Lord-Lieutenant of Hampshire
2010 Robert Barclay Woods, CBE
2012Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal , KG, KT, GCVO, GCStJ
2012Admiral The Right Honourable The Lord West of Spithead, GCB, DSC, ADC, DUniv
2017Nigel Atkinson, Lord-Lieutenant of Hampshire
2019Captain Ian McNaught CVO MNM FNI
2024Vice Admiral Sir Alan Massey KCB CBE